U.S. Small Business Administration

The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) was created in 1953 to help Americans start, build, and grow businesses throughout the United States, Puerto Rico, the U. S. Virgin Islands, and Guam.


The SBA:

  • Counsels, assists, and protects the interests of small business concerns
  • Preserves free competitive enterprise
  • Strengthens the U.S. economy

The SBA’s services include:

  • Working with lending partners, community development organizations, and micro-lending institutions to provide loans to small businesses
  • Financial and federal contract procurement assistance
  • Management assistance
  • Specialized outreach to women, minorities, and armed forces veterans
  • Loans to victims of natural disasters
  • Specialized advice and assistance in international trade

North Carolina is served by SBA Region IV.

Since 1963, the President of the United States has issued a proclamation announcing National Small Business Week to recognize the outstanding contributions of America’s entrepreneurs and small business owners. As part of National Small Business Week, the U.S. Small Business Administration highlights the impact of outstanding entrepreneurs, small business owners, and others from all 50 states and U.S. territories.